2014 Annual Conference
Revolutions in Eighteenth-Century Sociability

15–18 October 2014
Hotel Delta Montreal
Montreal, Quebec


Canadian Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies

Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies Society


The annual meeting of the Canadian Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies and Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies Society was held at the Hotel Delta Montreal, from October 15 through October 18, 2014. It was jointly organized by the Groupe de recherche en histoire des sociabilités (GRHS) and the Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur la première modernité (CIREM 16-18), and was hosted by the Université du Québec à Montréal, with the support of the Stewart Museum and the Macdonald Stewart Foundation.  All the images to illustrate the website were courtesy of the Stewart Museum, and participants had further opportunity to discover the treasures hidden in their collections during the conference.

The theme for this year’s conference was “Revolutions in Eighteenth-Century Sociability”.  Keynote speakers were Professors James Moore (Concordia University) and Pierre Serna (Université Paris-I Panthéon-Sorbonne).

All sessions were held at the Hotel Delta Montreal. Plenary talks were hosted by the Cœur des sciences of the Université du Québec à Montréal, just a stone’s throw away from the Hotel Delta Montreal. Pascal Bastien (UQAM) was the organizer of the conference.

Organizing Committee

Julie Allard (Bishop’s University), Pascal Bastien (UQAM), Simon Dagenais (UQAM), Lucie Desjardins (UQAM), Marie-Claude Felton (McGill), Geneviève Lafrance (UQAM), Simon Macdonald (McGill).

Scientific Committee

Brian Cowan (McGill), Susan Dalton (Université de Montréal), Peggy Davis (UQAM), Deidre Dawson (Michigan State University), Nicholas Dew (McGill), Ugo Dionne (Université de Montréal), Jean-François Gauvin (Harvard), Matthew Hunter (McGill), Neven Brady Leddy (Bishop’s University), Ted McCormick (Concordia), Heather Meek (Université de Montréal), Benoît Melançon (Université de Montréal), Dario Perinetti (UQAM), Fiona Ritchie (McGill), Peter Sabor (McGill), Jonathan Sachs (Concordia), Richard Sher (New Jersey Institute of Technology), Mark Spencer (Brock University), Laurent Turcot (UQTR).